Static-X | Texas Review | Ralph Arvesen
Static-X performing during the Freaks On Parade Tour at the Germania Insurance Amphitheater in Austin, Texas on August 18, 2022, with Tony Campos, Koichi Fukuda, Ken Jay, and Xer0. (Photo: Ralph Arvesen)

Over three decades and numerous albums, industrial metal scene leaders Static-X are consummate survivors. Even after the untimely death of lead singer Wayne Static in 2014, the group has regenerated and continued to record new music while honoring the late frontman's legacy. Unlike their more straightforward '90s nu-metal counterparts, Static-X were heavily influenced by house music, blending influences like Pantera with the electronic stylings of Prodigy and the Crystal Method to define their sound.

Static-X were originally formed in 1994 after Wayne Static's former band, Deep Blue Dream (featuring a pre-Smashing Pumpkins Billy Corgan), broke up. Along with drummer Ken Jay and guitarist Emerson Swinford, Static relocated from Chicago to Los Angeles and the trio formed a band called DRILL. Swinford left the band and was replaced by Koichi Fukuda, and Static-X was born.

The band's first album came out in 1999 at the height of the nu-metal era. Wisconsin Death Trip contained the singles "Push It," "I'm With Stupid" and "Bled For Days." They played Ozzfest to support the album and released an EP, The Death Trip Continues, the following year.

Fukuda departed Static-X soon after, and in 2001 the band released their sophomore effort: Machine. The following year, Wayne Static's vocals were featured on the Queen Of The Damned: Music From the Motion Picture soundtrack ("Not Meant For Me," written by Korn's Jonathan Davis). Jay left the band shortly after, and in 2003 Static-X's third album, Shadow Zone, was released, featuring "The Only" and "So" as singles. Replacing Jay was former Seether drummer Nick Oshiro.

In 2004, Static-X released Beneath... Between... Beyond..., a collection of rarities and demos. The band released their fourth album, Start A War, in 2005 with "I'm the One" and "Dirthouse" released as singles. In 2007, Static-X shared a fifth album, Cannibal, which had music ("No Submission") featured on the Saw III soundtrack. Also in 2007, the band shared their exclusive Destroyer EP and toured on Ozzfest once more.

In 2009, the band released their fifth album, Cult Of Static. The album single "Lunatic" appeared on the soundtrack to Marvel's Punisher: War Zone. Oshiro left Static-X around this time and was replaced by touring drummer Will Hunt.

By the 2010s, the members of Static-X had split off to concentrate on separate projects, and Static toured with a solo band under the Static-X name. In 2013, the band announced that they were officially breaking up, though Static continued to play the band's material on tour as a solo act. In 2014, Static died at 48 ostensibly due to a long history of substance abuse, though officially his death was termed a natural one.

A few years after Static's death, the former band members reunited and began to parse through old unreleased demos. Composing new songs from that material resulted in Project Regeneration, which came out in two volumes, the first of which dropped in summer 2020. To support the album, the newly reformed Static-X toured with a new, masked frontman named "Xer0," who was rumored to be Edsel Dope of Dope. The band also released a single, "Hollow," which peaked in the Top 15 in the U.S. Dance/Electronic chart.
They had so much energy they tore it up.

One of the best I’ve seen so far, they sound great live and bring lots of great energy, highly recommend.

Amazing set. I had the pleasure of seeing Wayne live years ago. I was blown away then and blown away now. Wayne would be proud. Bravo gentlemen, Bravo!

Outstanding, as always! We loved seeing Xero again to remind us of Wayne. You’re doing a great job of filling his shoes. I think everyone appreciates the honor and
respect given to Wayne.

Dude the show was fuckin epic! Everybody knew all the words to the songs and sang as one! I even met Tony!

Best night out for a long time. Energy was intense, perfect first concert for my youngest step daughter. Her sister's first concert was Static before Wayne passed. Blessed to have made this outstanding band both my step daughters first metal show.
Setlist for the show at the Germania Insurance Amphitheater
  • Regeneration
  • Bled for Days
  • Wisconsin Death Trip
  • Sweat of the Bud
  • Love Dump
  • Cold
  • I'm With Stupid
  • Push It

Static-X shared the stage with Rob Zombie, Mudvayne, and Powerman 5000 at the Germania Insurance Amphitheater. They continue across the United States with the last stop at the The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion in Woodlands, Texas on August 21, 2022.

web | facebook | twitter | instagram

Photos by Ralph Arvesen
web | facebook | twitter | instagram

Static-X | Texas Review | Ralph Arvesen Static-X | Texas Review | Ralph Arvesen Static-X | Texas Review | Ralph Arvesen Static-X | Texas Review | Ralph Arvesen Static-X | Texas Review | Ralph Arvesen Static-X | Texas Review | Ralph Arvesen Static-X | Texas Review | Ralph Arvesen Static-X | Texas Review | Ralph Arvesen Static-X | Texas Review | Ralph Arvesen Static-X | Texas Review | Ralph Arvesen Static-X | Texas Review | Ralph Arvesen Static-X | Texas Review | Ralph Arvesen